Championship History

Wentworth Club is not in itself wholly defined by its tournament history, but the many great championships which have been played on the West, East and Edinburgh courses have each played their part in making Wentworth what it is today; a world class tournament venue.

Historic Timeline

RYDER CUP – 1926 & 1953
The Roaring 20s were in full swing when Walter Hagen claimed he was bringing “the most powerful team who ever left New York” over to Wentworth for a team match between British and American professionals. In fact, Hagen’s team took a beating, but the result of this 1926 encounter was immaterial. It was such a resounding success that Samuel Ryder, who provided the trophy, said afterwards that, “we must do this again”. Thus the Ryder Cup was born.
When it returned to Wentworth in 1953, this time it was the Americans who triumphed despite their star player Ben Hogan – who had won all three majors he’d entered that year – staying at home! The Ryder Cup helped flag Wentworth clearly on the global map of tournament golf…and there it has stayed.

Leading amateurs of the day Harriot and Margaret Curtis inaugurated this great competition to “stimulate friendly rivalry among the women golfers of many lands” and it was Wentworth’s East Course that proudly played host to the first match in 1932. The GB&I team was led by the legendary Joyce Wethered, but the American team was victorious and by a comfortable margin.

Fortune smiled on Wentworth when in 1956 it hosted the Canada Cup, the precursor to today’s World Cup of Golf. Ben Hogan may have missed the Ryder Cup three years earlier, but he teamed up here with Sam Snead and won the team prize and the individual prize. There has probably never been a stronger pairing in the history of golf. It was the absolute definition of the ‘dream team’.

Wentworth’s West Course has twice hosted the prestigious English Amateur Championship, in 1961 and 1983.

Mark McCormack, founder of IMG, dreamed up the idea of a World Matchplay Championship at Wentworth’s West Course and it would eventually run uninterrupted from 1964 to 2007. The concept was inspired and if there is truth in the maxim that you make your own luck then McCormack got the winner he deserved in the inaugural championship – Arnold Palmer, golf’s most charismatic and exciting golfer. In fact, right from the very start the World Matchplay Championship had all the right ingredients: the finest players of the moment and an ideal venue in the West Course, with its twin par-5 finishing holes tailor-made for drama. There have been epic encounters, dramatic comebacks, great rivalries and a roll call of champions including Nicklaus, Palmer, Player, Faldo, Ballesteros, Norman, Lyle, Langer, Woosnam and Els. No wonder it was one of the most popular stops on the golfing calendar – for players, media, fans and officials alike. It is undoubtedly missed, but Wentworth Club and the game of golf were enriched by its glorious 44-year run. Click here to see our Wentworth WorldMatchplay video clip.


 1964 Arnold Palmer 1965 Gary Player   1966 Gary Player  1967 Arnold Palmer  1968 Gary Player
 1969 Bob Charles  1970 Jack Nicklaus   1971 Gary Player  1972 Tom Weiskopf  1973 Gary Player
 1974 Hale Irwin  1975 Hale Irwin  1976 David  Graham  1977 Graham  Marsh  1978 Isao  Aoki
 1979 Bill Rogers  1980 Greg Norman  1981 Severiano  Ballesteros  1982 Severiano  Ballesteros  1983 Greg Norman
 1984 Severiano  Ballesteros  1985 Severiano  Ballesteros  1986 Greg  Norman  1987 Ian  Woosnam  1988 Sandy Lyle
 1989 Nick Faldo  1990 Ian  Woosnam  1991 Severiano  Ballesteros  1992 Nick Faldo  1993 Corey  Pavin
 1994 Ernie Els 1995 Ernie Els 1996 Ernie Els  1997 Vijay Singh  1998 Mark  O’Meara
 1999 Colin  Montgomerie  2000 Lee  Westwood  2001 Ian  Woosnam  2002 Ernie Els  2003 Ernie  Els
 2004 Ernie Els  2005 Michael  Campbell  2006 Paul Casey  2007 Ernie Els

PGA CHAMPIONSHIP - 1984 to current day
The BMW PGA Championship and Wentworth’s West Course have been good for one another and this is certainly one trophy that remains high on every player’s career wish list.

The European Tour’s flagship event once upon a time rotated on several of Britain’s finest courses, Wentworth being among them, but in 1984 it returned to the West and never left. It was a fine piece of matchmaking and helped cement the Club’s reputation at the pinnacle of the professional game. Every spring this is European golf’s main attraction, bringing with it a buzz of excitement and the presence of many of golf’s greatest players. Former winners include major champions such as Jacklin, Ballesteros, Faldo, Langer, Woosnam and Olazabal, while former World No.1 Luke Donald achieved a rare double with historic back-to-back wins in 2011 and 2012. This year we are proud to announce Rory Mcilroy as our 2014 champion.


1972 Tony Jacklin 1988 Ian Woosnam 1995 Bernhard Langer 2002 Anders Hansen 2008 Miguel Angel Jimenez
1973 Peter Oosterhuis 1989 Nick Faldo 1996 Costantino Rocco 2005 Angel Cabrera 2009 Paul Casey
1974 Maurice Bembridge 1990 Mike Harwood 1997 Ian Woosnam 2003 Ignacio Garrido 2010 Simon Khan
1984 Howard Clark 1991 Severiano Ballesteros 1998 Colin Montgomerie 2004 Scott Drummond 2011 Luke Donald
1985 Paul Way 1992 Tony Johnstone 1999 Colin Montgomerie 2005 Angel Cabrera 2012 Luke Donald
1986 Rodger Davis 1993 Bernhard Langer 2000 Colin Montgomerie 2006 David Howell 2013 Matteo Mannassero
1987 Bernhard Langer 1994 Jose Maria Olazabal 2001 Andrew Oldcorn 2007 Anders Hansen 2014 Rory McIlroy
2015 Byeung-Hun An 2016 Chris Wood

SENIOR MASTERS - 1997-2007
It was a testament to the relative merits of the tournament and the Edinburgh Course that the Wentworth Senior Masters quickly blossomed into the flagship event on the European Seniors Tour. Rather fittingly it was the course’s co-designer Gary Player who won the inaugural tournament. The nine-time major champion shot impressive rounds of 69, 68, and 70 to take the title by a solitary stroke, and could barely contain his delight. “Now I’m in my 60’s,” he said, “I don’t know if I’ll ever win again so, my God, don’t I enjoy it when I win now!” The Wentworth Senior Masters then went from strength to strength, with winners from all over the world including European Tour legend Neil Coles, Sam Torrance and Eduardo Romero. Ever-increasing galleries relished the slightly more relaxed atmosphere of a Seniors Tour event, marvelling at the well-preserved shot-making skills on display. The Edinburgh course would always receive extensive praise for its superb playing conditions. Rather like the World Matchplay Championship, this event is sorely missed but not forgotten.


1997 Gary Player 2000 David Creamer 2003 John Chillas 2006 Eduardo Romero
1998 Brian Huggett 2001 David Oakley 2004 Sam Torrance 2007 Des Smyth
1999 Neil Coles 2002 Ray Carrasco 2005 Eduardo Romero